Post-bootcamp job hunting, one year later

Adrienne Domingus
3 min readJun 11, 2017

Almost a year ago now, I graduated from the Turing School. Turing doesn’t call itself a bootcamp, but as far as companies are concerned (especially once you get outside of Denver and its reputation doesn’t precede it quite as much, though it’s starting to), it’s the same thing.

Job hunting is hard. It’s emotional and it’s ambiguous and it will feel like you’re not getting anything done. Submitting job applications blindly doesn’t work very well. You’ll be joined by a sea of other bootcamp grads, and while you’ve certainly got some things to make you stand out, whether it’s portfolio projects or prior work experience, you’ll still be better off if you manage to get face time with someone who works at the companies you’re interested in. It takes more time and energy, yes, but it will pay off.

It’s scary to reach out to strangers on the internet. I get that. I’ve been there, and I’m both introverted and awkward, which is a great combination. But it’s possible, and it’s worth it. About once a week, I get a cup of coffee with a recent bootcamp grad, and I actually enjoy it (it’s so much easier from this side of the table). The below are just a few things that I appreciate — they’re framed specific to me, but I can almost guarantee all the other strangers you’re meeting with will appreciate it too.

I didn’t teach myself all these things (Thanks to Jeff and Lia for teaching me everything I know), but from the other side, I can definitively say: it’s all so true. Go forth and conquer your fear of

--

--