Career trajectories, seniority, and when it’s (not) time to move on

Adrienne Domingus
6 min readMay 4, 2019
https://unsplash.com/photos/D6uxeDSylxo

I realized recently that three years into my professional software career, I’m comfortably out of the “brand-new career” phase, and started wondering what it means to make good choices to continue growing in my career, in the ways that are important to me (in an individual contributor capacity, at least for now). At a high level, the main things I’ve been thinking about are:

  • How long is too long to stay at a dev job, particularly your first?
  • What does it mean to be a senior engineer? How long does it take to become one?

These are subjective questions, of course, and so, so contextual. There is no one right answer. That’s what makes them so hard to answer, even for myself. And as someone who changed careers into tech from a more “traditional” career (I was working for a school district immediately before attending Turing — talk about bureaucracy and well defined ladders and pay scales!), this stuff becomes particularly baffling.

So I asked Twitter for help, and my Twitter community came through for me.

--

--